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 Environmental Protection Division 
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           July 5, 2000 
 
MEMORANDUM 
 
TO:  Owners/Operators of Solid Waste Disposal Facilities 
 
FROM: Mark Smith, Chief 

Land Protection Branch 
 

SUBJECT: Reporting Requirements for Holders of Solid Waste 
Disposal Permits & Waste Disposal Surcharge (O.C.G.A.12-8-31)  

 
 
The Georgia Solid Waste Management Act of 1990 as amended (the Act) requires monitoring and reporting on the 
implementation of the State Solid Waste Management Plan.  An annual Solid Waste Management report has to be 
submitted to the Governor and the General Assembly providing a status on the progress being made by the State in the 
management of solid waste. 
 
The Act and the Rules developed pursuant to the Act require submittal to the Department of Natural Resources, 
Environmental Protection Division (EPD), reports which are needed to complete the Annual Report to the Governor and 
the Legislature. 
 
The reporting forms that have been developed require only the basic information needed as expressed in the Act and 
Rules.  The reporting of this information is a compliance issue.  It is incumbent upon the owner/operator (permit holder) 
to provide the information as a demonstration of compliance with the Act and the Solid Waste Management Plan.  Failure 
to submit the reports as required may subject the owner/operator (permit holder) to enforcement actions by the EPD. 
 
The Georgia Solid Waste Management Act of 1990 as amended (the Act) also requires owners/operators of any disposal 
facility other than an inert waste landfill or private industry solid waste disposal facility to assess and collect on behalf of 
EPD a surcharge of $0.50 cents per ton of solid waste disposed.   
 
Failure to collect and pay this surcharge to EPD as required will subject the owner/operator (permit holder) to 
enforcement actions by the EPD. 
 
Reports required to be submitted to the Environmental Protection Division are: 
1. Reporting the quantities of solid waste disposed.  (Authority:  Chapter 391-3-4.17, Rules for Solid Waste 

Management)  
 
Persons holding a municipal solid waste disposal permit for a solid waste disposal facility which includes, but is not 
limited to, municipal solid waste landfills, construction/demolition waste landfills, solid waste thermal treatment 
technology facilities, and Permits-By-Rule, shall report to the Director of EPD the total amount, in tons, of solid waste 
disposed of quarterly.  Reports shall be filed by the 30th day after the beginning of each calendar quarter, covering the 
reporting period for the preceding quarter.  Therefore, reports are due by April 30, July 30, October 30, and January 30.  
Reports must be submitted for all solid waste disposal operations except private industry disposal facilities (i.e., 
industrial solid waste landfills restricted to use by the specific industry owner/operator). 
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The reports shall contain, at a minimum, which cities and counties are served by the disposal facility AND the total 
number of tons of solid waste received for disposal (includes land filling and thermal treatment) from each jurisdiction 
served during the reporting period.  The required data for solid waste facilities shall be reported on the form Solid Waste 
Disposal Report and Permit-By-Rule facilities shall be reported on the form Permit-By-Rule Waste Disposal Report and 
submitted to:    
 
 Solid Waste Disposal Report OR Permit-By Rule Waste Disposal Report 

 Environmental Protection Division 
Land Protection Branch 

 4244 International Parkway, Suite 104 
 Atlanta, Georgia 30354 
 
Copies of both forms are attached. 
 
2. Reporting remaining capacity of the site.  (Authority: Chapter 392-3-4.17, Rules for Solid Waste 

Management) 
 
On July 1 of each year, person holding a municipal solid waste landfill permit shall report to the Director the remaining 
capacity of the facility.  Since the legislative intent is for the Solid Waste Management Annual Report to be filed with the 
Governor and Legislature in January of year, the report period should cover July 1 through June 30.  The report should be 
filed between July 1 and September 30 and contain the remaining capacity data as of June 30.  Reports must be submitted 
for all solid waste landfilling operations except for private industry disposal facilities (industrial solid waste landfills 
restricted to use by the specific industry owner/operator) and permit-by-rule operations. 
 
The remaining capacity shall be determined in cubic yards and the determination shall be certified by a professional 
engineer, registered in the State of Georgia. 
 
The rate of filling shall be determined and provided along with an estimated completion date for the facility. 
 
The required data and certification shall be on the form Remaining Municipal Solid Waste Capacity Report and 
submitted to: 
 
 Remaining Capacity Report 
 Environmental Protection Division 

Land Protection Branch 
 4244 International Parkway, Suite 104 
 Atlanta, Georgia 30354 
 
A copy of the form is attached. 
 
3. Assessment & Collection of the Waste Disposal Surcharge  (Authority: Chapter 392-3-4.17, Rules for 

Solid Waste Management) 
 
Owners/Operators of any solid waste disposal facility, other than a permit-by-rule operation or a private industry solid 
waste disposal facility, shall assess and collect from each disposer of waste a surcharge of $0.50 per ton on solid waste 
disposed.  Surcharges assessed and collected on behalf of EPD shall be paid to the division on the first day of July of 
each year for the preceding calendar year. The surcharge shall be calculated based on the amounts reported on the Solid 
Waste Disposal Report as discussed in Section 1. of this document.  EPD shall issue invoices with the calculated 
surcharge to the permit holder of the solid waste disposal facility.  Payments shall be made in accordance with the 
invoice. 
 
If you have any questions concerning these reports or the surcharge , please contact your assigned Compliance Officer 
from the EPD Region or call 404/362-2696 and request assistance. 
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