A Branch of the Georgia Environmental Protection Division

Radioactive Materials Program

(NOTE:   For x-ray producing machines (such as those used in Healthcare), please contact the Department of Community Health at 404-657-5400 or dch.georgia.gov).

Georgia Department of Natural Resources
Radioactive Materials Program
4244 International Parkway, Suite 120
Atlanta, GA  30354
Office: 404.362.2675
Fax: 404.363.7100
Rad.Materials@dnr.ga.gov

Notice:  Yearly invoices are no longer mass mailed at the beginning of the Calendar Year.

For Reciprocity Notifications or questions, please email: rad.reciprocity@dnr.ga.gov  

For Industrial Radiography Exams, please contact Ashley Devoe at:  Ashley.Devoe@dnr.ga.gov

For General Licensing, please contact Monica Johnson at:  Monica.Johnson@dnr.ga.gov

For DOT Exemptions, please e-mail Rad.Materials@dnr.ga.gov or call/fax at the above number.

Background

The Radiation Control Act was passed by the Georgia Legislature in 1964.  This Act allowed the State of Georgia to enter into an agreement with the former Atomic Energy Commission (AEC) to assume regulatory responsibilities over byproduct, source, and certain special nuclear materials.  The agreement was signed by the Governor and the AEC on December 15, 1969,  making Georgia an Agreement State.  Currently, there are 37 Agreement States in the U.S.

In 1990, the Radiation Control Act was amended to transfer the Radioactive Materials Program to the Department of Natural Resources.  The X-Ray Control Program remained with the Diagnostic Services Unit in the Department of Human Resources.

Program

The  Radioactive Materials  Program is responsible for regulating radioactive material in the state.  The office is located at 4244 International Parkway, Suite 120, Atlanta, GA 30354

Radioactive Materials Program Functions

Licensing and Inspections. The Radioactive Materials Program has issued more than 1,350 licenses since its inception in 1969.  The Program has approximately 500 active licenses, which includes reciprocal approvals of out-of-state and NRC licensees who perform regulated activities in the State of Georgia. Our license reviewers evaluate new and renewal license applications as well as notification, amendment and termination requests.

The Program performs inspections throughout the year.  Each in-state licensee is assigned to a category from I to V, which is consistent with Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) requirements that are based on potential risks to the licensee and the public.  Category I licensees represent the highest potential risks while Category V licensees represent the least.  Category I licensees, such as  industrial radiographers, are inspected at least annually while Category V licensees, such as portable gauge users, may be inspected once every five years.

Out-of-state licensees operating under reciprocity are inspected on a percentage basis.

Other Activities

  • Review and approve Shielding Calculations, e.g., HDR, Cyclotrons
  • Administer the Industrial Radiographer Examination
  • Addresses public concerns and answer questions regarding radioactive material
  • Provide additional educational assistance through licensing guides, notices and bulletins, workshops and seminars
  • Coordinate with other regulatory agencies to provide reciprocity for their licensees performing work in Georgia

Rules And Regulations

  • The use of radioactive material in the State of Georgia is regulated by Chapter 391-3-17 “Rules and Regulations for Radioactive Materials.”  The rules are revised periodically to maintain compatibility with NRC regulations.
  • By law, the Program is required to conduct public hearings for comments on any Proposed Rule Making during the proposed rule phase.

 

Staff Directory
Title Name Email
Program Manager 1 Irene Bennett Irene.Bennett@dnr.ga.gov
License Reviewer/Inspector Joel Mims Joel.Mims@dnr.ga.gov
License Reviewer/Inspector Gregory Reese Gregory.Reese@dnr.ga.gov
License Reviewer/Inspector Shatavia Walker Shatavia.Walker@dnr.ga.gov
License Reviewer/Inspector Yoshika Eason Yoshika.Eason@dnr.ga.gov
License Reviewer/Inspector Monica Johnson Monica.Johnson@dnr.ga.gov
License Reviewer/Inspector John Hays John.Hays@dnr.ga.gov
License Reviewer/Inspector Irvin Gibson Irvin.Gibson@dnr.ga.gov