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LEV/ZEV and Electric Vehicle Charger 
Tax Credit Fact Sheet 

 
The State of Georgia is offering the following tax credits: 

1. Alternative Fuel Low-Emission Vehicle (LEV): the allowable credit is the lesser of 
10% of the vehicle cost or $2,500 for the purchase or lease of a new low-emission 
vehicle that is fueled solely by an alternative fuel. 

2. Converted Vehicle:  Lesser of 10% of the conversion cost or $2,500 tax credit for a 
vehicle to be converted to run solely on an alternative fuel and meets the standards 
for a low-emission vehicle. 

3. Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV): the lesser of 20% of the vehicle cost or $5,000 tax 
credit is allowed for the purchase or lease of a new zero emission vehicle provided 
the vehicle does not receive its electricity from an on-board combustion device. 

4. Electric Vehicle Charger: the lesser of 10% of the vehicle charger and installation 
cost or $2,500 tax credit is allowed for the purchase and installation of qualified 
electric vehicle charger.  This tax credit applies only to non-retail business 
enterprises. Electric vehicle chargers installed at homes do not qualify. 

 
Any of these tax credits that are claimed but that are not used in any taxable year may be 
carried forward for five years from the close of the taxable year in which the vehicles were 
purchased or converted.   In no event shall the amount of any of these tax credits exceed 
the taxpayer’s income tax liability. 
 
The Georgia Environmental Protection Division (EPD) is responsible for issuing certificates for 
qualified vehicles, conversions, and chargers.   The certificate is used as verification that the 
taxpayer purchased/leased a qualified LEV or ZEV, properly converted a vehicle, or purchased 
and installed a qualified electric vehicle charger.  The certificates are to be sent in with the 
taxpayer’s income tax return in order to qualify for the tax credits.  The Department of Revenue 
is responsible for approving and issuing the tax credit. 
 
LEV, ZEV, and Conversion General Facts 

1. Tax credit available beginning January 1, 2001. 
2. No sunset provision (However, the state legislature can amend the tax code.). 
3. Vehicles must be powered solely fueled by an alternative fuel.  (Note: hybrid electric, 

flex fuel, and bi-fuel vehicles do not qualify) 
4.  Vehicles that qualify for the LEV tax credit typically include vehicles solely powered 

by natural gas or propane.   
5. Vehicles that qualify for the ZEV tax credit typically include full size electric 

vehicles.   
6. Vehicles must be registered in Georgia. 
7. Systems that convert a gasoline or diesel vehicle to an alternative fuel must be 

certified by the manufacturer to allow the vehicle to meet at a minimum low emission 



 

 
LEV CERTIFICATION TAX GUIDANCE     Revised 3/15 

2 of 2 

vehicle standards and the gasoline/diesel fuel system must be disabled or completely 
removed from the vehicle. Note: EPA Certificate of Conformity must be provided. 

 
Electric Vehicle Charger General Facts 

1. Tax credits are allowed only for non-retail business enterprises. Chargers installed 
at individual homes do not qualify. 

2. The charger must be rated greater than 130 volts and must be designed to charge on-
road vehicles. 

3. The charger must be located for and allowed public access. 
 

To Receive Your Specific Tax Credit 
 
1. Obtain the LEV/ZEV, Conversion, or Electric Vehicle Charger Certification Form(s) in 

color from your dealer, EPD, or the EPD website at: 
http://www.georgiaair.org/airpermit/html/mobilearea/engines/Alternativefuels.htm 

  
 

2. Complete the Certification Form(s) and send to EPD along with copies (not originals) of 
the following documents: (a) Bill of sale or Lease Agreement in the name of the taxpayer 
claiming the credit and (b) Vehicle Registration Receipt (only for vehicles).  Vehicles 
that have been converted need to include a copy of the Certificate of Conformity from the 
manufacturer stating that the conversion will allow the vehicle to meet at a minimum 
LEV standards.  The form(s) and documents should be sent to the attention to: 
 

   Attention:  Mobile & Area Sources Program 
   Georgia Environmental Protection Division 
   4244 International Pkwy., Suite 134 
   Atlanta, Georgia 30354 
 
3. EPD will review the completed form(s) and documents.  If all of the requirements have 

been met, EPD will sign the form(s) and send back the Certificate only to the taxpayer.   
    

 
4. The taxpayer should attach the original approved Certification Form(s) to their Georgia 

Income Tax Return (Form 500) or Georgia Amended Tax Return (Form 500 X) if 
mailing hard copies.  If filing electronically the taxpayer should hold on to the original 
certificate until requested by DOR.   Schedule 2 of the 500 form should reflect the 
amount of the anticipated credit (not to exceed your current year's tax liability).  
Omission of the original Certificate Form(s) may result in the credit claimed being 
disallowed. 

  
For more information about qualified alternative fueled LEV's or about the LEV certificate form, 
please contact EPD at (404) 363-7028. 
 
For more information about how to obtain your tax credit once you have received your completed LEV 
certificate form, please contact the Georgia Department of Revenue at: 
TaxCredits.Inquiries@dor.ga.gov  


