State of Georgia

Department of Natural Resources
Environmental Protection Division
Air Protection Branch

Initial  Notification Form
Updated Jan. 2, 2024

4244 international Parkway
Suite 120

Atlanta, Georgia 30354
(404) 363-7000

Initial Notification for Percholorethylene (PCE or Perc) Dry Cleaning Facilities

1. FACILITY NAME:

FACILITY ADDRESS:

I FACILITY ID NUMBER: 04 -

MAILING ADDRESS:

THIS NOTIFICATION IS BEING SUBMITTED FOR:
____Anew machine, which is replacing the old machine

CITY: STATE: ZIP: ___Addition of a new machine, not replacing an old machine.
CONTACT NAME: PHONE: ( ) ___Exceedance of PCE usage limit in current permit.
____New Facility
____ Existing Facility
2. TOTAL PERCHLOROETHYLENE USED AT THE FACILITY (in last 12 months) [ ] Gallons
3. METHOD OF DETERMININGUSAGEOFPCE: 0O PURCHASE RECEIPTS O ESTIMATED
4. DOES YOUR FACILITY HAVE AN AIR QUALITY PERMIT? O YES [ NO IF YES, PERMIT Nq
5. PROVIDE THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION FOR EACH DRY CLEANING MACHINE AT YOUR FACILITY
MACHINE 1 MACHINE 2 MACHINE 3
MACHINE TYPE DRY TO DRY DRY TO DRY DRY TO DRY

MACHINE AND MODEL
NUMBER

DATE MACHINE WAS
INSTALLED

IF CONTROL IS REQUIRED,
STATE CONTROL DEVICE
(Use the instructions on the
attached sheet to determine the
required control)

DATE CONTROL DEVICE
WAS INSTALLED OR WILL BE
INSTALLED

6. The following work prevention practices must be performed at your facility.
(a) Conduct a weekly leak detection and repair program to inspect all dry cleaning equipment for leaks that are obvious from sight,

smell, or touch.

(b) Conduct enchanced leak detection with a halogenated hydrocarbon detector at least once per month.

(c) Repair leaks within 24 hours after they are found, or order repair parts within 2 working days after detecting leak that needs
repair parts. Install the repair parts within 5 working days after they are received.

(d) Keep alog of results of the leak detection and repair program.

(e) Follow good housekeeping practices, which includes keeping all PCE and waste containing PCE in covered containers with no
leaks, draining cartridge filters in closed containers, and keeping machine doors shut when clothes are not being transferred.

(f) Operate and maintain all dry cleaning equipment according to manufacturer’s instructions.

(g) Monitor and record either the refrigerated condenser exit temperature or the high and low pressure of the refrigerated

condenser on a weekly basis.

(h) If machine has a secondary carbon adsorber (required for dry cleaning machines installed after December 21, 2005), monitor
PCE concentration in drum headspace at end of cycle once per week using a colorimetric detector tube or PCE gas analyzer.
(i) The following records shall be kept at the facility plant for 5 years

(i) Alog of results of leak detection and repair program.

(ii) A log of amount of PCE purchased in the last 12 months, calculated on the first of every month.

(iii) The operation and maintenance manual for all dry cleaning equipment at the plant (this should remain at site for the life of

the machine).

(iv) A log of all monitored parameters.
() Machines installed after December 21, 2005 must be non-vented dry-to-dry type with refrigerated condenser and secondary

carbon adsorber.
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7. SIGNATURE OF PERSON COMPLETING THIS SECTION:

Under penalty of law, | do certify that my facility is in compliance with all of the applicable requirements of 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart
M. | further certify that the information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete.

SIGNATURE: DATE:

8. MAIL THIS FORM

A copy of this form must be submitted by registered mail to both Georgia EPD and U.S. EPA Region 4 at the addresses listed below.
Remember to keep a copy for your records.

Air Toxics Unit Manager Mr. Lee Page

Georgia Department of Natural Resources U.S. EPA Region IV
Environmental Protection Division Air, Pesticides, and Toxics

Air Protection Branch Management Division

4244 International Parkway Sam Nunn Atlanta Federal Center
Suite 120 61 Forsyth Street, S.W.

Atlanta, Georgia 30354 Atlanta, Georgia 30303-8960

If you have questions concerning the completion or submission
of this form, please contact:

Georgia Small Business Air Toxics Unit Manager
Environmental Assistance Program Georgia Environmental Protection Division
(404) 363-7000 Air Protection Branch
(470) 524-0645 (404) 363-7000

Generic Air Quality Permit

The Georgia Environmental Protection Division issues Generic Air Quality Permits to PCE Dry
Cleaners. The generic permit was updated on January 4, 2008 and is available for download at
https://epd.georgia.gov/document/document/drycleanerpermit012008pdf/download. Please read the
terms and conditions of the Permit prior to submitting the Initial Notification and NOCS forms.

Notification of Compliance Status

All PCE Dry Cleaners submitting an Initial Notification form area also required to submit a
Notification of Compliance Status (NOCS) form on or before July 28, 2008 (or within thirty (30)
days of the facility startup date). The NOCS form includes a certification that you are complying with
the new monitoring, recordkeeping and reporting requirements.
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Percholorethylene Dry Cleaning Facilities - Instructions

ITEM 1: Indicate the facility address, mailing address, contact and facility identification number.
ITEM 2: Indicate the amount of PCE purchased in the last 12 months in gallons at the facility.

ITEM 3: The amount used can be determined by the purchase receipts or, if purchase receipts are
not available, by a conservative estimate.

ITEM 4: If your facility has an Air Quality Permit, please enter the Permit No. in the box.
ITEM 5: For each dry cleaning machine at the site, follow the worksheet attached (page 4) and fill
the required control device name under the appropriate column. Also provide the date on

which the control device was installed or will be installed.

ITEM 6: The pollution prevention steps and record-keeping requirements mentioned should be
followed by the owner or operator of the facility.

ITEM7: The form must be signed and dated.

ITEM 8: Mail the form to Georgia Environmental Protection Division and the U. S. Environmental
Protection Division, Region 4.
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Percholorethylene (PCE) Dry Cleaning Facilities -
Worksheet for Control Requirement Determination

Dry-to-dry machine installed before 12/9/91 and facility uses less than 140 gallons of PCE per
12 consecutive months.

If this is your situation, no control is required. Write “No Control Required” in the box below
the machine in question 5.

Dry-to-dry machine installed before 12/9/91 and facility uses more than 140 gallons of PCE per
12 consecutive months.

If this is your situation, your required control is either a refrigerated condenser unless a carbon
adsorber was installed on your machine prior to September 22, 1993. Write “Refrigerated
Condenser” or “Carbon Adsorber” in the box below the machine in question 5.

Dry-to-dry machine installed on or after 12/9/91.

If this is your situation, your required control is a refrigerated condenser. Write “Refrigerated
Condenser” in the box below the machine in question 5.

Dry-to-dry machine installed on or after 12/21/05.
If this is your situation, your required controls are a non-vented machine with a refrigerated

condenser and a secondary carbon adsorber. Write “Non-vented with Refrigerated
Condenser” and “Secondary Carbon Adsorber” in the box below the machine in question 5.
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