

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION DIVISION

Jeffrey W. Cown, Director

**EPD Director's Office** 2 Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive Suite 1456, East Tower Atlanta, Georgia 30334 404-656-4713

Mr. Eric Duff, State Environmental Administrator Georgia Department of Transportation Office of Environmental Services 600 W. Peachtree Street, NW, 16<sup>th</sup> Floor Atlanta, Georgia 30308 **Attention: Sarah Kriigel** 

Re: Request for Variance under the Provisions of O.C.G.A. § 12-7-6(b)(15) GDOT Project - PI # 0016319 State Route (SR) 17 at SR 17 Thomson Bypass McDuffie County

Dear Mr. Duff:

EPD has received your request to revise the buffer variance authorization letter for the subject project. The revision requested is for a change in the project PI# from "PI#0013605" to "PI#0016319."

This revision to a previously approved buffer variance will not affect the project's original concept, will not change the amount of buffer encroachments and is only a correction in the project title. The revision will not require further application to GAEPD. Conditions 1 - 6 specified in the attached June 11, 2024, approval remain in effect.

You remain obligated and responsible for complying with the provisions of any other law or regulations of any federal, local or additional State authority; however, the aforementioned are not obligated to permit this project if they do not concur with its concept of development/control.

If you have any questions concerning this letter, please contact Jacob Kelley, Erosion and Sedimentation Control Unit, Nonpoint Source Program, at (470) 531-2938.

Sincerely,

Jeffrey W. Cown.

Jeffrey W. Cown Director

JWC:jk

BV-097-24-01

Mr. Eric Duff BV-097-24-01 PI # 0016319 Page 2

cc: Courtney Cedor, GDOT Project Manager Alexandra Nelson, GDOT Environmental Analyst GDOT Environmental Inbox EPD-GDOT Inbox Daryl Williams, GDOT ECB Lisa Westberry, GDOT Mitigation GDOT IOEQ Inbox Robert (Bobby) Dollar, GDOT Environmental Program Manager Andrea Wahl, AtkinsRéalis Rebecca Ricks, AtkinsRéalis Jeffery Williams, EPD East Central District (Augusta) Robert Amos, GSWCC Steve Schleiger, Region 3 Fisheries Charles Newton, McDuffie County Commission Chairman