FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

When can I become re-certified? Individuals can begin taking continuing education courses 1 year before their certification expires. Any course or courses taken previously will not be accepted.

What if I allow my certification to expire? Those individuals that fail to obtain at least 4 hours of continuing education prior to their expiration date will have a 90 day grace period to attend a continuing education course. Failure to attend a continuing education course after the 90 day grace period will require the individual to attend the full course and pass the exam.

Please note that the 90 day grace period does not apply to your certification status. If an individual allows their certification to expire they will be in noncompliance with the State Law and are subject to any enforcement actions that may occur.

How do I find an approved continuing education course? Individuals may check the GSWCC's website at www.gaswcc.georgia.gov for a list of approved continuing education courses.

Will there be a re-certification exam? There will be no exam for re-certification. To become re-certified, individuals must attend a course or coures totaling 4 hours of instruction.

What if I have multiple certifications?

Individuals must attend 4 hours of continuing education for every certification they wish to renew. Example: If an individual is a Certified Regulatory Inspector and Certified Plan Reviewer, they would need to take 4 hours for Level IB and 4 hours for Level II for a total of 8 hours of continuing education.

When will I receive my new certification card?

Individuals with 4 or more hours will receive a new certification card in the mail approximately one week before the initial certification expires.



Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission

The publication of this document was supported by the Georgia Department of Natural Resources, Environmental Protection Division and was financed through a grant from the U.S. Enviromental Protection Agency under the provisions of the Section 319(h) of the Federal Clean Water Act of 1987, as amended. February 2010

For more information please contact The Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission's Education and Certification Program PO Box 1665 Athens GA 30603 (706) 542-1840 [Phone] (706) 542-4242 [Fax] certification@gaswcc.org www.gaswcc.georgia.gov

BREAKING NEW GROUND

Georgia's Education and Certification Program for Persons Involved with Land Disturbing Activities

PROGRAM UPDATES RE-CERTIFICATION

RE-CERTIFICATION

In 2003, HB 285 amended the Georgia Erosion and Sediment Control Act of 1975. This amendment included a mandatory certification program for individuals involved in land disturbing activities in Georgia. This certification program is administered by the Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission (GSWCC). All certifications issued by GSWCC are valid for three years. According to the current state law a certified individual shall be required to attend and participate in at least four hours of approved continuing education courses, as established by the Commission, every three years. (O.C.G.A. 12-7-19)



Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission

THE RE-CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

Individuals seeking re-certification may attend a GSWCC continuing education course or attend other continuing education courses that total at least four hours of instruction. Individuals will be required to present a government issued photo ID at all continuing education courses.

Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission Continuing Education Courses

GSWCC will offer a continuing education course for each certification level. An individual must attend the continuing education course for each certification they wish to keep current. The following GSWCC continuing education courses will each total four hours of instruction.

Level IA Fundamentals Continuing Education Course

Who Should Attend: Certified Person/Certified Personnel.

About The Course: This course will focus on state and federal law changes and updates, responsibilities under State and Federal Laws, common issues on site and state waters.

Level IB Advanced Fundamentals Continuing Education Course

Who Should Attend: Certified Regulatory Inspectors About The Course: This course will focus on state and federal law changes and updates, enforcement strategies, example of a working LIA program, and common on site issues.

Level II Introduction to Design Continuing Education Course

Who Should Attend: Certified Design Professionals and Certified Plan Reviewers.

About The Course: This course will focus on state and federal law changes and updates, the plan review checklist, plan review issues and state waters.

Other Continuing Education Courses

Individuals may choose to attend other continuing education courses approved by GSWCC. All approved courses will be listed on the GSWCC website at www.gaswcc.georgia.gov. All approved continuing education courses are required to print the following statement on all advertisements and references:

(Course Title) meets the criteria for a Level ______ continuing education course for the Georgia

Soil and Water Conservation Commission and is approved for

<u>hour(s)</u> of instruction. Only those continuing education courses posted on the GSWCC website will be accepted. If a course is not on the list, it will not be accepted for continuing education hours. No exceptions will be made.

Approved continuing education courses may range from one to four hours of instruction. An individual may take any combination of courses totaling four hours of instruction.