A Division of the Georgia Department of Natural Resources

Rules and Laws

The Environmental Protection Division administers 26 state environmental laws and is responsible for programs under four federal laws: the Clean Air Act, the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, the Safe Drinking Water Act and the Clean Water Act.

EPD also develops and enforces rules based on Georgia (Official Code of Georgia Annotated) statutes. Below are links to the existing rules and their corresponding laws or statutory authorizations and to proposed rules. Information on proposed rules will remain on this page for at least 60 days after final action by the Board of Natural Resources.