Summer Open Burning Ban

Attention - Summer Burn Ban


Georgia Forestry Commission

Outdoor burning in Georgia requires a permit from the Georgia Forestry Commission (GFC) for burn activities 2, 3, 4, 8, 9, 11, and 13.  GFC Permits are not required for burn activities 1, 5, 6, 7, 10, and 12.  More information on the different types of burn activities can be found here.   To learn more about open burning in your county contact your local GFC office.

The Summer Open Burn Ban runs from May 1 - September 30 and includes 54 counties in Georgia.

Georgia EPD District Office Locations and Contact Information

In Atlanta, during the summer months, the ozone in the air we breathe can reach unhealthy levels. Ozone is formed when volatile organic compounds and nitrogen oxides react in the presence of sunlight. A major source of these pollutants is the burning of fuels and other combustible materials. The Georgia Environmental Protection Division (EPD) has identified open burning as a significant contributor of the pollutants that form ozone. Therefore, open burning in metro Atlanta and the surrounding areas must be restricted during the summer months. Beginning May 1st and ending September 30th, EPD’s Open Burning Ban will be enforced in 54 Georgia counties.

The Open Burning Ban prohibits citizens and businesses from burning yard and land-clearing debris. This rule is in addition to the year-round state ban on the burning of household garbage.

Counties included in the ban and the appropriate EPD District Office phone numbers follow:

  • Metro Atlanta District Office
    • 404-362-2671 
    • Counties included: Carroll, Clayton, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Fulton, Gwinnett, Heard, Henry, Rockdale, Spalding.
  • Northeast District Office (Athens)
    • 706-369-6376 
    • Counties included: Banks, Barrow, Butts, Clarke, Hall, Jackson, Jasper, Madison, Morgan, Newton, Oconee, Putnam, Walton.
  • Northeast District Office (Augusta)
    • 706-792-7744 
    • Counties included: Columbia, Richmond.
  • West Central District Office
    • 478-751-6612 
    • Counties included: Bibb, Crawford, Houston, Jones, Lamar, Monroe, Peach, Pike, Twiggs, Upson, Meriwether, Troup.
  • Mountain District Office
    • 770-387-4900 
    • Counties included: Bartow, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Cobb, Dawson, Floyd, Forsyth, Gordon, Haralson, Lumpkin, Paulding, Pickens, Polk, Walker.

You can also view the Summer Burn Ban Map.

What are the rules of the open burning ban?

Don't burn anything from May 1 - September 30.

Some exceptions include: 

  • Agricultural burning exemption
  • Forestry "prescribed burning" exemption*
  • Campfires or barbeques
  • Fire-fighting training exemption, provided appropriate permit is issued
  • Operation of open flame equipment exemption
  • Explosive disposal in accordance with U.S. Department of Labor Safety Regulations

*Not exempted in the 19 county metro Atlanta non-attainment area: Bartow, Carroll, Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Hall, Henry, Newton, Paulding, Spalding, Rockdale and Walton.

Failure to adhere to the burn ban during May - September may result in fines.